Christopher Award

I am deeply honored to share that "Maya was Grumpy" will receive a Christopher Award at the 65th Annual ceremony in New York City on May 15th, 2014.

Since 1949, the Christopher Awards have annually saluted media (TV programming, feature films, books for adults and children) that “affirm the highest values of the human spirit.”  The goal is to encourage artists to pursue excellence in creative arenas that have the potential to influence large audiences in a positive way.  

The sense of personal mission and the power of goodness is the heart of the Christopher message. It is summed up by the ancient Chinese proverb which has become our motto: “It’s better to light one candle than to curse the darkness.”

As someone who has been deeply saddened by recent tragedies, it is wonderful to think that "Maya was Grumpy" might bring a little light into the world. 

Unlike other major awards programs, the Christopher Award does not have entry forms or submission fees. Potential winners are reviewed throughout the year by panels of media specialists; members of the Christophers’ staff with expertise in film, TV, and publishing; and specially supervised children’s reading groups.

 Past honorees include Peter Reynolds and Mo Williams and I am honored to be in the current company of Suzanne Collins, Paul Fleishman and Kate DiCamillo. 

The 65th Annual Christopher Award Announcement. 



4 Responses to “Christopher Award”

  1. Melissa Guion says:

    Congratulations! That’s wonderful!!

  2. Saurabh Mathur says:

    So proud of you! <3 🙂

  3. Sujata M. Rodriguez says:

    Amazing!! Congrats Courtney!! Well deserved!!

  4. Tara Lazar says: